Get Listed

Send us your details to receive SMS and email alerts!
Security Question: How many letters in ZSA

Midbay Offer

Thank you Midbay Motors - The Audi and VW dealership in Richards Bay will donate R1000 to ZSA if any ZSA surfer or family member buys a car from them from now on!

Like & Follow Us!


ZSA on Facebook

Welcome - Zululand Surfriders Association
Interschools Championships postponed to March 2015 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robin de Kock   
Thursday, 23 October 2014 11:26

Due to a congested calendar and matric and other year end exams it has been decided to postpone the National Interschools championships to a date in the first term of 2015. This date will be determined soon and will be circulated by early December.

Billabong remain the presenting sponsor for the tournament but additional support funding is required in order for the event to be run efficiently.

SSA will endeavour to secure support funding for the top two schools from KZN and Eastern Cape to attend the event which will be held in the Western Cape. We realise that this postponement will disappoint a number of matriculants who will be leaving school at the end of 2015. Details of how to enter next year’s event will be circulated by early December. Surfing South Africa apologises for any inconvenience this postponement might have caused.

Kind regards,
Robin de Kock
General Manager
Surfing South Africa

Last Updated on Thursday, 23 October 2014 11:34
Zululand's Rising Stars PDF Print E-mail
Written by ZSA Media   
Monday, 20 October 2014 12:17

The Zululand Surfriders Association (ZSA) team sent their young surfers to the Hurley SA Junior Champs from 7-12 October. They performed admirably and can hold their heads high with great experience earned and some good individual results.

The event, which concluded in 3 to 4 foot (one metre) picture perfect offshore waves at the Lower Point in Jeffreys Bay on Sunday, was won by KwaZulu-Natal Central who ended with the highest points and with 2 of the 6 individual titles.

Team Zululand had a comparatively small team so could not accumulate many points but had Braiden Coates reach the 4th round in the U/17 division and then an exceptional semi-final placing for Liam de Villiers in the U/15 Division. Liam impressed the judges with a powerful backhand surfing display at the event that showcases South Africa’s up and coming talent in the water. He is fast improving to become a top competitor and with an improved wave selection will certainly become one of best surfers to come out of Richards Bay.

Congratulations to all the riders who competed and a big thank you to those who accompanied the team down to Jeffreys Bay for guidance and moral support. We look forward to seeing our young stars go from strength to strength with valuable knowledge gained.

Last Updated on Thursday, 23 October 2014 11:35
Surfing included in Sports Awards PDF Print E-mail
Written by Robin de Kock   
Friday, 17 October 2014 09:10

The names of the nominees for the prestigious SA Sports Awards have been announced. The winners will be announced on 30 November at an awards evening in Sandton.

The finalists for the 2014 SA Sports Awards are:

Sandile Mqadi
Surfers not Street Children

Administrator of The Year
Karen Losch
Mr Daan du Toit
Mrs Nokuzola Patience Thamae

Sportsman of The Year
Chad Le Clos
Greg Minnaar
Khotso Mokoena
Cornel Fredericks

Sportsman of The Year with Disability
Lucas Sithole
Ernst Van Dyk
Pieter du Preez

Sportswoman of The Year
Sunette Viljoen
Mpho Madi
Ashleigh Moolman Pasio

Sportswoman of The Year with Disability
Justine Asher
Kgothatso Montjane
Adri Visser

Team of The Year
Springbok 7s
Lawn Bowls
Under-19 Cricket

Newcomer of The Year
Wayde van Niekerk
Gezelle Magerman
Rivaldo Coetzee
Coach of The Year
Shakes Mashaba
Graham Hill
Neil Powell

Volunteer of The Year
Beryl Campbell
Selwyn Jackson
Sandile Mqadi (Surfing)

Indigenous Games of The Year
Nthonga - Kwa Zulu Natal
Drie Stokkies - North West
Ncuva - Limpopo

Recreational Body
Surfers not Street Children (Surfing)
Park Run
Sport for Social Change Network

Photographer of The Year
Reg Caldecott
Duif du Toit
Frennie Shivambu

Journalist of The Year
Udo Carelse
Mathews Mpete
Duane Dell'oca

Sports Star of The Year
Ernst van Dyk
Chad le Clos
Portia Modise

Khotso Mokoena
Duane Vermeulen
AB de Villiers

School Team of The Year
Vorentoe High School
Harmony High School
Paarl Gymnasium

Developing School Team of The Year
Fulton School For Deaf Triathlon Team
Oudtshoorn School of skills

Federation of the Year
Triathlon South Africa
Rowing South Africa
Swimming South Africa

Last Updated on Friday, 17 October 2014 09:37
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 20
RocketTheme Joomla Templates